Click here for the current Ashtanga Yoga schedule

ashtanga yoga picture.jpg

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga was brought to the West by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois (26 July 1915 – 18 May 2009)  At minimum it is a practice of specific asanas (postures) done repeatedly in a series, daily.  At best it it is a practice that when done routinely can transform the body, mind and spirit, creating inner peace, strength and balance.  When practicing Ashtanga Yoga it can encourage us to strive to be at our best in all aspects of our lives.  Because it builds upon us repeatedly we have opportunity to become strong at our core before moving on to postures that we may not be ready for.  Students are given new postures as their strength and flexibility increases,  thus  insuring increased ability while decreasing the potential for injury. 

Moon Days and Off days

In Ashtanga Yoga we do not practice on the full moon, new moon or during the first day or so of a woman's menstrual cycle. We also do not practice on Saturdays.  This allows our bodies to rest. Grace Studio stays open on these days but the focus is more on incorporating meditation, mantras, Yoga philosophy and restorative asanas.  For your home practice, here are the moon days for 2017..

Tho the physical practice of Ashtanga Yoga is a mindful practice, it is not the only Type of "Ashtanga Yoga"  I also am referring to a much different "Ashtanga" which should also be practiced as part of a Yogic Lifestyle.  This is Patanjali's "Ashtanga Yoga" the 8 limbs of Yoga. When we think of practicing "Yoga" here in the west we tend to think of the physical practice of moving into postures.  Practicing the postures is only ONE of the 8 parts of "Yoga". What is wonderful is when we practice the Yoga asanas it often eventually and naturally bring us to a full Yogic Life Style. Grace Studio encourages and supports you in this journey. Learn how to incorporate a Yogic Lifestyle into your life. Click here for more information.

The Beautiful 8 Limbs of Yoga

(click on a link below for more information)

  1. Yamas or Ethics
  2. Niyamas or self discipline
  3. Asanas or postures
  4. Pranayama or breath work
  5. Pratyahara or withdrawl of the five senses
  6. Dhajana or Concentration
  7. Dhyana or meditation
  8. Samadhi or ecstasy 

Listen and Practice at Home

Full Primary Series with David Swenson (actual practice starts at minute 3:00)

Full Primary Series Class with it's founder Sri K. Pattabhi Jois